Housing Committee Update

Housing Committee Update
 
We have been having some really good support coming from YOU, the community in regards to our housing situation. Our Band manager (Les) will be taking part in our next meeting, which will be in-camera. We are hoping to get him in at least once a month to give his input & help in regards to housing. 
 
Leo Lawson is originally from Bella Bella and has worked in their community for a number of years. He has also worked  for the Kwakiutl band he  will be our guest speaker for next week's meeting that will be open to the community. He specializes in  Capital Funding, Housing, & Infrastructure. I encourage all to come out to next week's meeting which will be held @ our family unit starting @ 6pm, Thursday April 12th
 
I'm requesting funding for our Housing Committee's needs. Eddie Charlie has agreed to build us an office on the side of our family unit (10' x 12'). Right now we are renting a laptop, with the expenses of all the ink for our (myself & Danny) printer coming out of pocket. Our Treaty Advisory Committee (TAC) has almost the same members and at the last TAC meeting I received a big red binder of information. At our last housing committee meeting, I found myself passing around my binder, so everyone could see the housing list. I will be sure to fill you in on the outcome of my funding request.
 
To touch on a couple of our committee concerns that we have been discussing, the first one is our ARREARS, the second is HOUSING LIST. We will be talking about these concerns in the weeks to come.
 
There have been some really good ideas we need to put on paper & address to C&C. I assure you these ideas having a really good chance of becoming reality. Not everyone is going to like all of the ideas but we have the best intentions for our Community and hope that together we can find solutions that work for everyone.
 
Thank You
 
Ricky Coon ( Chair )